The Perfect Book Tag

When I (Malka) first saw this tag going around, it looked like so much fun! It was created by Sofii @ A Book A Thought, and these questions have you discussing your favorite aspects of different books! We were tagged by Noémie @ Tempest of Books so we got to try our hand at answering these questions. AND IT WAS SO MUCH MORE DIFFICULT THAN IT LOOKS! One of the rules mentions no repeats, which we interpreted to mean that not only could we not repeat an answer in two different questions, we couldn’t repeat each other’s answers, which definitely made it tough! But we did have lots of fun doing this tag and so without further ado, here are our answers! All covers link to Goodreads!

Image result for green flower dividers

RULES:

  • Answer honestly, there are no wrong answers
  • To make it just a little harder, you can’t mention the same book twice
  • Have FUN!
  • Tag me if you decide to do it, I would love to see your answers
  • Tag at least 5 people

Image result for green flower dividers

The Perfect Genre

What genre would your perfect book be?

Pick a book that represents perfectly its genre.

Malka: Romance. It’s the genre I love reading the most, and I search for romance in practically all the books I read. You can read more about how much I love romances in books in the very first Debate It that Chana and I had. #shamelesspromo.

ANYWHO back to the question at hand, I think The Kiss Quotient is the most perfect romance I’ve ever come across. The two characters actually INTERACT the entire book, instead of fighting for most of it, which was very refreshing to find. It was cute, and fluffy, and filled with romantic dates and snuggles, and was absolute perfection. If you can’t tell by now. I’m a teensy bit obsessed with this book.

The Kiss Quotient

Chana: Gaaah, I hate making decisions! Asking me to choose a perfect genre is like asking a mother to choose her favorite child! I usually just default to answering fantasy, but I’ve started to really enjoy some contemporaries! And I also love sci-fi/fantasy. Soooo… I guess I’m going to have to choose a genre that’s a mush of all three. Or as I like to call it, contemporary but weird.

A perfect example of a book in this genre would honestly be most books by Patrick Ness. The two that stand out the most to me in this regard would be Release and The Rest of Us Just Live Here.

Release The Rest of Us Just Live Here

The Perfect Setting

Because every story needs the perfect setting.

Pick a book that takes place in a perfect place.

Malka: Bloom is a graphic novel about a romance set at a bakery.  What could be better than falling in love with yummy baked goods surrounding you!

Bloom

Chana: I’ve spent a lot of time deliberating over this answer because I’m terrible at decisions. But I’ve decided to choose SPACE like from The Disasters. I love books that take place in space, since space ships, aliens, and otherworldly planets are always the best.

32469736

The Perfect Main Character

Because every book needs that brave and amazing MC.

Pick the perfect main character.

Malka: I’m going to go with Simon Snow from Carry On here. But kinda for the exact opposite reasons that the prompt gives me. Simon is a small, helpless child. He’s kind of useless, and he wasn’t my favorite character in Carry On. (Baz has my heart.) Then why am I choosing him, you may ask. Well, because he’s so useless! It’s endlessly entertaining! He needs so much help, and it’s quite refreshing to see a main character that doesn’t have everything figured out even though they’re the hero of the story.

carry on

Chana: I’m going to pick Luna Lovegood for this one. Because we have enough books about normal, average fellows. Or people who are weird but know they’re weird. We need a book about someone unique who thinks that they’re normal.

Harry Potter 1

The Perfect Best Friend

Because we always love that character who supports our MC, no matter what.

Loyal and supportive, pick a character that you think is the best friend ever.

Malka: This may sound terrible, but I couldn’t think of a single best friend that I wanted to choose for this question. I think it’s because all my favorite BFFs are a part of a friends to lovers trope. But I’m going to go with Gertie from The Flatshare for this one in the end because I really enjoyed her. My review for this book is already up, and in it I mention how Gertie is the most supportive best friend and I how I love that she will protect her friends at all cost!

The Flatshare

Chana: I would pick Charlotte from Everything Leads to You! She’s the ultimate wing-woman and super supportive!

Everything Leads to You

The Perfect Love Interest

Although not all stories need it, we all love a bit of romance.

Pick a character you think would be an amazing romantic partner.

Malka: WHAT DO YOU MEAN NOT ALL STORIES NEED IT?? OF COURSE THEY DO!

I used so many of my go-to answers in other questions but I still have plenty to choose from! I’m going to go with Rhysand because he’s absolute perfection!

acomaf

Chana: I’m scrolling through my Goodreads, trying to find a character that stands out, but the fact that I don’t generally read romance might be impeding that…so I’m just going to say, no love interest!

The Perfect Villain

Because even when sometime we hate them, we always need them.

Pick a character with the most sinister mind.

Malka: I’m going to go with AIDAN from Illuminae for this one. Because I think it’s unique enough to have an artificial intelligence system be a villain, but it’s even more impressive to have that same AI be a fully rounded, morally ambiguous, ruthless, and yet somehow lovable character in a series.

illuminae

Chana: Marcella from Vengeful is my FAVORITE! She’s so ruthless and amazing, such an inspiration.

vengeful

The Perfect Family

Our book wouldn’t be the same without that unconditional support from the MC’s family.

Pick a perfect bookish family.

Malka: For this one I’m going to go with a recent read. I finished Hot Dog Girl in May, and Elouise’s father is quite possibly the best fictional parent I’ve read about. He loves his daughter and is actively involved in her life, and they honestly just have SUCH a great relationship!

Hot Dog Girl

Chana: The De Lainey’s from The Boy Who Steals Houses are EVERYTHING. They’re so rambunctious and loveable and supportive, I could not get enough of them.

The Boy Who Steals Houses

Perfect Animal or Pet

Because we all need a good loyal companion.

Pick a pet or fantastic animal that you need to see on a book.

Malka: I’m gonna go with a dragon that’s a character of its own. Dragon Slippers is a fantastic middle grade series that obviously centers around dragons. These dragons are fantastic and make such great companions, and friends as well!

Dragon Slipper

Chana: Spitfyre from the Septimus Heap series! Because who doesn’t want a dragon?

Magyk

The Perfect Plot Twist

“OMG, how I didn’t see that coming!”

Pick a book with the best plot twist.

Malka: I’m going to go with Strange the Dreamer for this one. There were a whole bunch of things that happened in this book that took me by surprise. It definitely helped keep my interest throughout the book. (Although the beautiful writing was already doing just that.)

Strange the Dreamer

Chana: I read We Were Liars almost a year ago and I’m still shook at that ending. It was like the plot took a breakneck sharp turn out of nowhere, and I loved it.

We Were Liars

Perfect Trope

Pick that trope you would add to your own book without thinking.

Malka: Chana stole my answer, but I have a few romance tropes that I adore, so I’ll just use another. I was going to use the fake dating trope, but I actually couldn’t think of a good book to use as an example. So on to my third trope, best friends to lovers. I have a few books I could use for this one, but I’m going to go with Coming Up for Air. I just love how they remain, friends, as they also transition into more. It’s so good!

Coming Up for Air

Chana: ENEMIES TO LOVERS. This is the only romantic trope that I will tolerate. It is glorious. I love when people hate each other. A spectacular example of this one is Red, White, & Royal Blue. If you’ve seen my review then you know I’m in love with that book, and you need to go read it now.

Redd White & Royal Blue

Perfect Cover

Because we all love a good, beautiful and artistic cover.

Pick that cover that you would easily put in your own book.

Malka: Pilu of the Wood is just adorable. And since my perfect book would be nothing but cuteness, I’d love to have a similarly drawn cover. One that manages to be beautiful yet endearing.

Pilu of the Woods

Chana: Emergency Contact has such a beautiful and calming cover. I was drawn in immediately by the cuteness emanating off of the cover.

Emergency Contact

Perfect Ending

Because every great adventure has an ending.

Pick a book that has the perfect ending.

Malka: Oh, this is tough because, to be honest, I dislike most endings. Finales are a struggle because of this, but even standalones tend to keep me wanting. I recently finished Little Fires Everywhere though, and the ending was fantastic!  Everything wasn’t perfectly tied up in a bow, but it still managed to be the best ending I’ve read in so long! I was so happy with the way it ended that BECAUSE I didn’t know everything, which is super rare.

little fires everywhere

Chana: I don’t know!! I’ve just realized that it’s always the 5 most recent good books that I read become my top 5 books for that time, which means I’ve been refraining from answering the same book for like half the questions here. I am going to pick Kill the Boy Band for this question though. I’m not going to explain myself, because of spoilers. But! It was amazing!

Kill the Boy Band

Image result for green flower dividers

We tag:

Rita @ Bookish Rita

Lauren @ Twenty-Seven Letters

Ellyn @ Allonsythornraxx

Taryn @ Taryn and Her Books

Michelle @ Chelle’s Book Ramblings

Image result for green flower dividers

What’s the most perfect book you’ve ever read? What is the perfect setting for a book in your opinion? Do you agree with any of our answers?

24 thoughts on “The Perfect Book Tag

  1. Great post as usual! But how did Malka go through the whole post without using Fangirl as an answer? Like are we sure this is the real Malka?

    As for my most perfect book: I’m stuck between Dear Martin by Nic Stone The Winternight Trilogy by Katherine Arden, and The Poppy War and The Dragon Republic by R. F. Kuang. These 3 are in very different genres but they all are just so beautifully written and multifaceted and wonderful.
    (I just went through the list again to make sure I wasn’t imagining things and there really is no Fangirl. Count me in as confused/impressed)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! And I’m sorry, okay! It was a difficult decision, but I felt that I had been talking about Fangirl waaaay too much, and since I didn’t want my answers to get too repetitive I made the deliberate choice not to use it as an answer. But now that I know it’s one of my signature books, you can be sure you’ll see it again soon!

      I totally hear having favorites in different genres! There’s something unique about each genre that allows for another favorite, even when you think you’ve already found the most perfect book!
      (And there really is no Fangirl. I’m sorry to disappoint.)

      Like

  2. OMG Malka!!, it makes me SO happy that both of you decided to do the tag, this was a lot of fun to read 😍
    I LOVE many of the books that are mentioned here, and others I need to read, The Kiss Quotient is in my TBR for the Smutathon, so I think it will be the next book I’ll read, I hope to enjoy it I’m excited and OMG I LOVE, We Were Liars, and I think we have a very similar taste in terms of books with Chana!!, which is great! 😊
    I need to read Bloom too, it sounds incredibly adorable
    I hope you have both an INCREDIBLE month and enjoy your readings ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes!, I read Genuine Fraud and I LOVED IT, not as much as We Were Liars, but still a very shocking and addictive book. I was sad that it doesn’t have very good reviews, but personally, I think if you liked We Were Liars you can enjoy that one as well 😊

        Like

    1. You should definitely do it! I love the tags that make you think out of the box because they’re so interesting to read, but then again they’re always so difficult to answer because I always want to answer multiple books for every question 😂

      Like

  3. Ahh I’m so glad you did this tag,I love it so much it’s such a fun tag to read 🙂 I really like your picks here and I need to read The Kiss Quotient soon! A book set in a bakery, a romance set in a bakery would have my feelings melted into a puddle or something haha. And EMERGENCY CONTACT is the perfect book cover ahh I love it SO much ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you so much for the tag! Bloom sounds so cute: baked goods and love? Sign me up. I also LOVE enemies to lovers, which is why I think I’ll adore Red, White & Royal Blue. I’m so happy you liked the ending of Little Fires Everywhere — that one is on my June TBR for sure!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Bloom really was adorable! It was quite funny too! Red, White, & Royal Blue is quite possibly the best enemies-to-lovers trope I’ve ever read! Plus I just ADORE that book! And Little Fires Everywhere was a true masterpiece! I really hope you enjoy it!

      Like

  5. I actually have soooo many of your answers I want to talk about… but I will just mention a few… I loved Aiden too and wished he’d had a bigger part to play in the rest of the series (though I haven’t read the last book yet). I love hate to lovers trope too and find it way more realistic than other sorts of love. hahaha I love dragons and will check out that middle grade book!! And Pius of the Woods does have an adorable cover. ❤ Loved all your answers 😀

    Like

    1. That happens to me all the time! I always have so much to say! AIDAN was one of my favorite parts of Illuminae! I really hope you enjoy Obsidio! I think that the hate-to-love trope allows for the relationship to develop, which allows for it to feel more realistic and less insta-lovey. And Dragon Slippers is a really cute series! I hope you enjoy it! Also, Pilu of the Woods really is adorable. It was the cover that caught my eye originally!

      Thank you! 💕

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Thank you so much for tagging me! I’m super looking forward to doing this tag! Much like Chana though, I hate making decisions, so this will be interesting.

    As a proclaimed fan of contemporary, I’ve been really wanting to get my hands on a Patrick Ness book, and you’re just making me want to read his work even more, even if his books have a bit of “weird”!

    Also, your main character choices are PERFECT! Simon Snow needs the most help, but he’s so wonderfully awkward and dependent, that you can’t help but love him. I also can relate with the love for Luna, because she’s always herself throughout the series, no matter what, and she’s just written so well.

    I’m upset to admit that I haven’t read a lot of these books, like We Are Liars or Emergency Contact (and both have been on my list for SO long), but you’re making me want to head to the bookstore right now!!

    This was such a lovely post, and (once again) thank you for tagging me! I’m so so excited to do it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment