Birthdays and Blogging

Hello and welcome! Today’s post is going to be somewhat different because today is Chana’s birthday and I’m using that as an excuse to talk about how wonderful she is! There are so many things that Chana noticeably does for our blog, such as how she designs all of our graphics, and how she manages our Twitter all by her lonesome, since I don’t engage on that platform. But for her birthday, I wanted to focus on the ways Chana has made my blogging experience better behind the scenes.

happy birthday GIF

Me to Chana this entire post

I started thinking about writing this post when I realized that I enjoy blogging because I don’t do it alone. I started following one or two blogs many years ago, but I was always a lurker. I always read the posts, but I very rarely commented. Since I was following a few blogs though, the thought crossed my mind a few times that I should start a blog of my own, but I never had the courage. Then at BookCon 2018, when I threw out the idea half-jokingly that we should start our own blog, Chana took me seriously, and Paper Procrastinators was born. On my own, I know that I never would have taken the leap to start a blog. But I also know that I wouldn’t have lasted very long even if I had somehow worked up the courage.

look looking GIF

Me just a few years ago when I visited blogs

I know this for a very simple reason. You see, every time I read posts that talk about the downsides of blogging, I’ve realized that I don’t relate as much as I could have. It’s not that I don’t relate at all, because I really do, but knowing myself, I recognize that if not for Chana certain topics would get me way more anxious. For example, a while back I wrote a blog post about why I enjoy stats. After posting, reading the comments, and coming across some new posts about comparing stats and such, I realized that I left a fundamental piece out in my stats post. I didn’t mention Chana.

When I was reading the comments, I felt like I had lied because people would talk about how their stats would make them anxious, and I hadn’t mentioned that in my post at all, even though that was something that I still experienced! But when I thought about why I didn’t mention it, I realized that whenever our stats page is making me upset, for example if I posted and don’t get very many views, my first reaction is to freak out to Chana. And then something magical happens. Chana not only gets upset on my behalf, but she also reassures me that my post was great, and that people must just be busy.

nervous season 1 GIF by Manifest

Chana reassuring me whenever I worry about a post

The same thing happens on Instagram. If one of my pictures is defeated by the algorithm, Chana will tell me how wonderful my picture is, and that Instagram is the only thing keeping people from appreciating the beauty that is my post.

Similarly, when it’s finals time and I start feeling bad that we’re not blog hopping or posting as regularly as we do normally, Chana is there to remind me it’s okay to take breaks. For someone who worries as much as I do, it’s helpful that I have someone who not only understands the struggles of blogging, but also is there to give me a pep talk every time I need it. Blogging can be really stressful at times, but I’ve had so much fun this past year because I’ve had Chana by my side.

2019-04-29 (1)

Who is your blogging buddy? When’s your birthday? What would be your ultimate birthday gift? What makes you enjoy blogging?

Also, please make sure to wish Chana a very happy birthday today, on any platform you’d like!

Instagram // Twitter

36 thoughts on “Birthdays and Blogging

  1. This is so adorable! And happy birthday to Chana!
    I don’t have a blogging buddy, but I love to blog because I get to meet so many like-minded people through blogging!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much!! 💕💓💕 Aaah, I know! This entire post is so sweet, and all I knew was Malka telling me not to look on WordPress post drafts, so it was such a surprise. Having a blogging buddy is the best, I love having someone to bounce ideas off of and just discuss things with always!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Aaah, Thank you!! ❤💕 It’s insane how many amazing people there are online! I feel like a creep sometimes, but I’ll occasionally be reading someone’s blog and be like, yes. I would like to befriend this person 😂 But it’s hard to not want to connect with people when we have such a fantastic community!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is such an amazing post!
    ALSO HAPPY BIRTHDAY CHANA!
    I don’t really have a blogging buddy atm, Bruno has kinda dropped?
    My birthday is actually on the 15th, so in 6 days!
    There is no better gift than a book voucher
    I just really enjoy the blogging community!
    – Emma 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love this post! In the past, I’ve blogged alone and with a buddy and even with an on-and-off team of guest reviewers. The team was so helpful when I was in college and didn’t have much time to blog, but the best definitely had to be with a buddy because we shared the blog together and could talk about all the ins and outs of blogging together.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Chana is definitely my blogging buddy! And even though we tend to be on the same schedule with school, somehow we manage to schedule everything so that neither of us are overwhelmed when we get really busy! It ends up working pretty well for the most part!

      Like

  4. AHH I am a little late, HAPPY BIRTHDAY CHANA!! ❤
    This is such a heartwarming post, I love it so much. It's great to share this experience with someone for sure and to have someone to rant to and fangirl with about everything blogging happening ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Happy belated birthday Chana!! ❤️❤️❤️ I can see you are the calm presence at the center of Paper Procrastinators blogging storm!!

    Malka I totally get you. My blogging buddy doesn’t even blog! But she is totally my calming force too. I’m probably still here because she’s the voice of reason when I want to freak out. Its the best when there is a person who understands what you’re feeling and can twist you about and get you to see whats really happening. I hope you two remain for a long time. ❤️❤️❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment