Black Lives Matter: Boosting Black Voices in Our Community

Black Lives Matter. If you don’t agree with that truth then you can kindly leave our blog. We’ve seen many people on Twitter and all over the blogosphere wondering what they can do to support Black people in our communities right now, and from what we’ve seen the best thing for us to do right now is to promote Black voices. We think it should go without saying that you should be supporting these Black bloggers, authors, instagrammers etc always.

However, here have been several bad takes recently in regards to seeking out books by diverse authors, Black authors in specific, and though we think it should be obvious, here’s a very basic explanation of why it’s important to deliberately seek out diverse authors.

Saying that you don’t “see color” in regards to your consumption of media is wrong primarily because of the fact that publishers tend to promote books by white authors more than they do those of Black authors. If someone reads books without taking into account the race of the author writing it they will be more likely to read books by white authors. Books by AOC more likely have to be sought out, or promoted by individual bloggers.

We realized that we are no less guilty of this when taking stock of what we read as we write this post. Everyone can do better at being anti-racist. There are no exceptions. If you’ve read all the books we’ve listed, hopefully you have additional books to recommend to us. 

Outside of reading, promoting, and supporting Black creators here are a few other ways you can help. Below we’ve provided links to several petitions and sites that you can donate to if you have the ability to do so. 

This website links to loads of petitions you can sign and many places that you are able to donate to.

ADHOC has a list of resources such as petitions, donate links, as well as a bunch of literature to help educate oneself on anti-racism.

This Slam Online compiled more links of where you can donate.

Zoe Amira created this YouTube video where all the ad funds are donated to various #blacklivesmatter resources, so if you want to contribute but don’t have the funds to do so, you can help by watching the video on repeat without skipping ads.

A few of the links in these resource posts may be repetitive, but these were just a few of the great resources we found online!

As mentioned above we’ve compiled a list of books by Black authors that we really enjoyed, or we really want to read! A few of these books are on our TBRs, and some are upcoming books by Black authors that we’ve included as well. We’ve linked all the covers to Goodreads where you can find out more about the books.

36285129. sy475
39848512
24974996
33294200. sy475


35380157. sy475
52211784
43884209
49976087
34728667


50160619. sx318 sy475
51931067
41020406. sx318
39085465. sy475
49629448


32075671. sy475
33606119
40265832
48717633
45734692. sx318


Our list was not comprehensive and we are not Black bloggers, so here are some even better resources from those that know the representation the best. We’ve found some Black content creators from a variety of platforms, recommending a variety of books to share with you. Since we didn’t want this post to go on forever we were limited in how much we could share, so we encourage you to find even more recommendations and resources on your own. This is just a starting point.

Black Owned Bookstores to Support:

Black Bookstagrammer Book Recommendations:

Black Booktuber Book Recommendations:

Jourdan @ Booking Jourdan lists her favorite books by Black authors from both 2018 and 2019.

Olivia @ Olivia’s Catastrophe recommends 20 books in various genres written by Black authors and featuring Black characters

Black Blogger Book Recommendations:

If you’re looking for Black Young Adult Novels To Add To Your TBR, Afoma gave 45 recommendations.

If you’re looking to support Debut Black Releases Coming Out in 2020, Em @ Em’s Bookish Musings compiled a list for you.

We hope the resources and links we’ve included in this post help, and if you have any more links, book recommendations, or Black creators to share, please let us know!

25 thoughts on “Black Lives Matter: Boosting Black Voices in Our Community

  1. Thank you for sharing all thesr resources and links with us! As for the YouTube video, just remember to disable adblocker and not to skip the ads 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Amazing recommendations! I’m definitely guilty of reading mostly books by white or Asian authors in the past and although I’ve been privileged enough to be educated about Australia’s violent history against our own Indigenous people, there is so much I still have to learn about the history of oppression of Black people in other countries. 😔

    I’m currently reading White Fragility, and even though it’s marketed for white people, I have learned so much from it already & I’m only 2 chapters in! Would highly recommend!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Yeah, confronting how I didn’t prioritize Black authors in my reading was a surprise because I thought I read diversely, but that was mostly because of the books by Asian authors that I’ve read. I definitely need to step up my game in terms of reading Black authors, but now that I’ve made a conscious effort to find more books by Black authors that sound interesting to me, I already have a large TBR that I plan on working though and adding to.

      I really don’t know that much about the history of oppression in most countries besides the US. And I feel as though I need to do a better job of educating myself about racism in America, because although I’ve learned about it, I’ve never done a deep dive to educate myself. Knowing the bare minimum is not enough. I’m so thankful that there have been so many recommendations of books I can read to further my knowledge.

      White Fragility is one of the books at the top of the list of non-fiction books I’m interested in! I definitely plan on checking it out!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Absolutely – one of the many positives about the book community speaking up during this time is that I’ve discovered so many incredible books by Black authors that I feel like I would’ve have heard of otherwise!

        I’ve got a number of books about America’s history on my TBR too & even though I live in Australia, I feel like it’s my duty to educate myself about the oppression of Black people EVERYWHERE.

        Yes I’d definitely recommend it, Robin DiAngelo (the author of White Fragility) also has a youtube video where she discusses some of the themes in her book too which I’d highly recommend!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I’m really looking forward to reading A Song of Wraiths and Ruin and I was so happy to see it on the NYT Bestseller list yesterday! Now I just have to wait for it to be in stock again 😄 🖤🖤

      Like

Leave a comment